Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Moral judgement among the people is critical to the civilized working of a society. This sound judgement sometimes causes hatred towards the leader especially if the accused peers are rich or have considerable following. Sound moral judgement, no matter what the results are, should be carried out even if the respect of the leader from his or her peers weakens.

Celebrities in many interviews say that the hate they receive from people is much less as compared to the love. This simply states the fact that leaders may receive hate if they take judgments against the accused but the respect and love the leaders attain will always be much greater than the hate. Thus, the leader will attract the best people in the society who promote justice, love and respect. These people are usually the ones who drastically improve the overall conditions of a certain country or state by opening healthy businesses, education promoting equality in all aspects such as gender, color, religion, etc.

Oppressors become strong in their evil acts if no or little action is taken against them which also motivates more people to commit crimes. However, if these people are given proper corporal punishments for their crimes, be it small or heinous, the society's crime rates drop down and peace entails. Taking sound judgement does not degrade the respect of the leader from the majority. For certain time periods, the criminals might dislike the leader but after completing their probations, these robbers actually start to like the leader for his or her wisdom. Thus, when they come out of jail they are civilized persons most often wanting to contribute towards the society.

Truth hurts when sometimes spoken but in the end instead of hatred, truth is the winner. Sound moral judgement depends very much on speaking the truth which is on of the characters of successful leaders. Moral judgement is important for an effective leader no matter the consequences. His or her respect might weaken for certain time but in the future it definitely strengthens.