In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

The author states that people in powerful position should be required to step down after 5 years of service as he/she believes based on various assumptions that after 5 years in power, people will not bring the impact they are supposed to bring or simply should not be allowed: to provide a way for younger generation to lead. However, this argument if scrutinize further with real world evidences will fall apart. In my opinion, people must be allowed to hold powerful position for extended period of time, provided they regain their position with fair means like elections, panel discussions, public opinion etc.

Working for more than 5 years in a decision-making position allow people to make long term decisions. For example, Satya Nadella at microsoft recently gave up the microsoft mobile platform and announced to collaborate and bring their cloud services to other platforms. The impact of this decision cannot be measured in short period of time because this will impact microsoft in a long run as the number of devices running on these platforms will receive the same office products that were earlier tied exclusively with microsoft platform.Also having a long-term stability in power instill responsibility in leaders as they become aware that if something goes wrong, they will have to deal with it in future hence they take their decisions cautiously.

The experience these leaders gain from working at powerful positions for long term allows them to navigate through previously experienced problem with better accuracy to fix and succeed. they can also use experience to avoid typical problems using foresight they gain while working at their positions previously. For example, the education field always have to prepare their students for industry work. A new leader might not be able to network through companies efficiently or will not be able to judge the market demand and fluctuations. However, an experienced leader in education sector will have a better network with alumni and people with whom he has worked earlier, these people certainly will provide him the right network and industry perspective over current market demands.

Nevertheless, it also can be argued that some may exert monopoly if allowed to keep hold of power for longer period of time or may not be able to bring fresh perspective or may tends to misuse their power but, an audit or accountability system in place can keep in check on these leaders and if guilt found or mischievous intention detected these systems can replace/remove such leaders. For example, the congress in parliament keeps the decisions of president in check and sometimes even do not approve certain decisions which does not work in favor of people.

In conclusion, the change in leadership just after 5 years in any field would result to the loss of expertise and experience that can be detrimental for the field. Therefore, it is recommended that the leader must be allowed to continue for extended period of time with account and audit system in place to keep their accountability on check.