The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Feedback is a very significant stimulator in one's performance. The feedback from the people one leads helps one understand where the strengths and weaknesses lie, what are the areas of improvement and what are the things people are liking.

Without feedback, the system typically becomes very autocratic and magisterial in nature, where the leaders would assume whatever they are doing and deiciding must be the best. However, it might be possible that the priotities for the people and what the leader perceives are strikingly different. Without encouraging feedback, the leaders would never be able to understand this disparity in a timely manner, leading to wide dissatisfaction among the general masses.

For example, my institute had been taking two mid semester exams each semester, along with the end-semester final test. There was a long impending dissent among the student community and the management to see if the mid semester tests should be reduced to one. The students felt that they weren't able to work dedicatedly on more longer term semester projects while the management, on the other hand, felt that the frequent testing scheme was a good metric to score the students academically. A consensus was reached only after the management encouraged and welcomed feedback from the students, ultimately leading to a middle ground fulfilling the requirements of both the groups. This not only resolved the issue but also generated a wave, among the students, of being lead by leaders in the management who are willing to take care of the interests of the student community and the institute as a whole .

More generally too, in the corporate world, companies typically employ a mechanism for providing feedback to the employees. A number of surveys conducted by Times, Business Insider and Forbes have repeatedly highlighted how the employees of such companies have reported a higher percentage of job satisfaction, self-worth and the feeling of being an invaluable asset to the company compared to the employees of companies without any formal feedback system. The team-leads with the happiest teams have been shown to be the ones who keep an open eye and ear to what their teams have to say, and let themselves be approachable as leaders to their team members.

However, it must be kept in mind that it is the duty of the leader to analyse the feedback to ensure it represents the voice of the masses, before blindly acting on the feedback. For instance, in a political scenario, the feedback from a municipal area to the mayor of the area might have been fabricated as the voice of the masses but would only be representing the interests of the affluent few. It, therefore, becomes important to be analysed by the leaders to ensure that the weaker sections of the society or the minorities are also being heard equably.

In a nutshell, it can be said that the best leaders are indeed those who encourage feedback from the people they lead, analyse the feedback to understand the impact of the subsequent actions on the various interest groups and act on the feedback in a balanced manner.