The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

While competition is necessary for achieving the posts in different areas such as leadership in government, industry, research etc., cooperation ultimately has the upper hand when success parameters are considered, for any project.

Cooperating with a bunch of people provides every member in the group, access to different skills that each group member brings to the table. It is when these skills are combined that magic happens, projects delivered on time and missions achieved with the highest degree of success. For instance, ISRO (Indian Space Research Organisation) or NASA involves several positions like Software Engineers, Hardware Engineers, Chip Designers, Mechanical Engineers etc., in major projects. A software engineer is not expected to know things that a mechanical engineer does and vice versa. Project managers leverage the unique skills that each designation offers and combine them to complete a mission.

Taking another leaf from the above example, a MARS mission is provided with a fixed amount of resources from different departments in the organisation.

Cooperation becomes tough in case the employers compete with each other on a regular basis. An employee, is rather expected to perform well in his/her domain instead of competing with team members. Doing so only results in reduced efficiency of every person involved and leads to profligacy. Instead, the organisation would combine forces and try to achieve a task in a shorter duration.

Futhermore, cooperating with like minded people on a research area might bring in different perspectives due to the unique set of experiences that a person possesses. This has the potential to improve the execution speed, reduce possible errors that a single person may not notice, and help solve tough challenges in a ingenious way.

However, on the other hand, competition may be required to get your foot in the door during the initial stages. For example, a company would only hire the best candidates for the job. Here, competition among the job applicants is of utmost importance. Post the screening stages, successful applicants are only required to cooperate with other team members to successfully deliver a project. Additionally, there might be several companies competing for the top spot in a given domain. Companies fight a tough battle to defend their position or move ahead of the competition using cooperation, at a macro level.

Thus, to conclude, competition has its place in any given process, but ultimately, cooperation is the primary driver.