The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

The environmental problems is serious in many towns and cities. How to deal with the large amount of consumer-generated waste bother many policy makers. Some suggest that the best solution is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household. However, in my opinion, this suggestion has some flaws and is not plausible.

First of all, we should note that most of the consumer-generated waste does not come from but from other specific occupation. For example, the restaurants would generate a lot of waste of food every day, they discard all of the food which wasn’t sold in that day. On the contrary, in household, the food would be kept even it was not finished at once. The household actually generates a small proportion of consumer-generated waste. Thus, it is improper to focus the policy on household.

In addition, the strict policy might not really decrease the waste. The refuse to accept excessive waste from the government does not indicate that the household would generate less trash. Possibly, some households may discard excessive trash in the forest and harm the nature ecology. Others may bury it at some secret place and pollute the land .Still the other might even burn it, thus cause the air pollution. If the waste could not be handled properly, the situation will become worse.

Alternatively, I believe that there are a lot of better way to deal with this environmental problem. For example, the government should not strict the amount of trash they would accept, but encourage the household to produce less waste. If the amount of waste is under the threshold, the household should be receive some reward. In addition, the government can also put the tax on the waste, that is, the more waste, the more charge. This may deter the household from generate too much waste. Furthermore, some policy should focus on specific occupations like the bakery and the restaurants. Their production should be regularized, namely, they should be punished if they make too much products and cause the waste. All of those suggestion are beneficial to the environment and are more efficiency than the statement actually.