The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Positive and Negative Reinforcement techniques have been quite popular through the past few centuries as fields of research. The issue at hand tells us that the vest way to teach is to praise positive actions and at the same time ignore negative actions. I agree with the statement and believe that Positive Reinforcement techniques are excellent ways through which positive behavior can be encouraged and taught. I would like to build upon the same with three points of reasoning.

Human behaviour is perhaps the most enigmatic thing in science today, it is something which we experience and feel every single day, however, we know very little about its origins. Our understanding of human behaviour is largely based on studies which correlate stimuli to their reactions. It is in this vein, that we realize that praise is the best way to condition people.For example, It is often noted that students in High Schools across Asia who receive training for various university entrance exams perform better when there is lesser fear of failure. Students whose parents and teachers constantly reassure them and advise them on the benefits of working hard and getting into top schools tend to do better than those students whose teachers taunt them of the repercussing of failing to perform in tests and exams. While both the students have the same goals and receive the same training the students who are more assured clearly do better on the exam.

Additionally we must evaluate the effect of the contrarian view, i.e. ignore the positive actions and criticize the negative ones. This is most commonly seen in the way that criminal justice systems across the worlds work, all them seek to punish miscreants in some way or the other. However even among the counties there are different approaches. For example in Nordic Countries people who commit crimes are sent to prisons, however these prisons are very different from many across the world in the sense that they don’t aim to take revenge but rather reform through positive reinforcement. They teach the inmantes how to live life better and as the result they tend to have lower rates of recindivism. Clearly strengthening the argument.

While, it is quite clear that humans respond better to words of kindness and praise than they do to acerbic rebukes, we must also at the same time analyze the macroscopic effectiveness of following such an approach. It is often very expensive to follow positive reinforcement as a means of reform and teaching. The Nordic countires are wealthy and can perhaps spend on more on criminal reform. However most of the world isn’t as fortunate. It is hence important to prioritize where it is essential to use positive reinforcement. It is essential that such philosophy finds use in place like schools, university and workplaces.

It has thus been established scientifically that positive reinforcement serves as means through which people can be effectively taught. However, we must also take into consideration the feasibility and efficiency of having a purely positive reinforcement based system. It is perhaps also important to follow the dogma of ‘Horses for Courses’ which trying to teach people to create an Ideal World.