The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching is a complex process, and many theories have been developed in order to explain how to maximize the knowledge to be passed from one person to another with efficiency and effectiveness. It has been stated that pointing out the positive actions of the learner and ignoring the negative ones is the best way to teach. However, this assumption is flawed in many aspects, and should not be considered a good way of transmitting knowledge.

First of all, whe a person who is going through any educational process receives nothing more than compliments, he/she will never know when something he/she did in a manner should be done in differently. Thus, the learner will continue to act the same way as when the learning process began. That contradicts the very definition of “learning”, that can be explained as "the action of changing one’s behavior in some particular aspect”. Well, if you do not point the negative actions, how could a person know that something is being done in a wrong, or at least in an uneffecient way?

Secondly, it is safe to say that negative reinforcements are very important to the learning process. Not only should the teacher point out a negative action, but also do something to prevent the learner to act in the wrong way again. This is primordial to the process. The students of a school, for instance, should be thaught that missing classes is wrong, and if they do so, their parents should be warned and they shoulg get detention.

Moreover, criticism is a way of showing respect and concerness. When a child is being taken care of, but the mother doesn’t correct the bad actions, the child is likely to think that he/she can do anything in any way, and the mother is not concerned at all. Tha same thing happen in any learning process.

Therefore, while evaluating the positive aspects of one’s learning process is a good way to keep the learner’s interest and, therefore, help with his/her evolution, it is also important to point out the improvement opportunities on their actions in order to maximize the transmitted knowledge.