The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The issue whether students should be praised for positive actions and ignored for negative actions, is a contentious one. I believe teachers should give students proper credit when they do something good and skip students' minor errors. Because if students are praised for their accomplishments then they will be more interested to do better. Furthermore, if teacher always scold students for minor wrongdoings then they will be frustrated and lose confidence.

First, if students are given proper credit for their accomplishment then they will become more enthusiastic. For example, suppose a student is good at mathematics and always gets good grades in mathematics. If teacher gives him some credit and praise that student, then he or she will become more interested in math. Again, when some student helps an old person, or clean school floor and if teachers laud them for that then other students will be motivated to help people or clean surroundings. So, praising for good task is important for motivation toward doing good things.

Likewise, if teacher start to chide student for their every minor error then students will start to lose their confidence and will eventually become a weak minded person. For example, suppose a student is weak in English grammar. If teacher starts to reprimand him or her for every silly grammatical mistake they do, then the student will be frustrated and lose interest in grammar. So, teachers should neglect student’s minor errors.

On the other hand, some people believe that praising constantly will make students over confident. But this is not true. Because teachers are lauding students for something they have already accomplished. It would make them over confident if they get the praise for something they have not done. For example, if we praise a student for getting only 20% mark in history then he or she can think history is too easy and become over confident. But if someone who gets 90% in history should be given proper credit and it will not make him too proud to stop studying history.

In conclusion, even though there are some adverse effects of praising for good actions and ignoring bad ones, teacher can avoid these negative effects by properly judging whom should be credited and how much and whom should be discredited. By doing so teacher can lead a student toward a better future and help them become better human being.