The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As an orthodox Chinese idiom once stated: ‘The achievement of the student is thanks to a strict teacher’. The assertion has confirmed the essential role of teaching with critical standards and requirement, an ideology which I strongly support with. However, dependent on the students characteristic and capacity, there exists no single uniform method to be considered the best way. From my opinion, the philosophy of teaching goes beyond the consideration only on positive or negative actions of the student. On the contrary, the duty of education is to bestow students with the capability to distinguish the right from wrong. From there, they would be able to learn and grow from their mistakes.

Since the statement did not make a clear distinction on whether we are discussing about vocational learning or formal education, I would take it from a general approach. Given the complexity of education, teachers should yield the balance between providing encouraging applause and productive criticism. As I stated above, the rationale behind is to enable students to recognize the positive and negative impact of their own action, which gear them towards maturing in a particular field. For the twelve-year formal education, if a student is only praised whenever they do well in the test but was never punished by cheating in the exam. So what is a better explanation than we are encouraging students to engage in misconducts and violation. If the situation persists, their sense of judgement could be completely deteriorated.

I am also a strong believe on ‘failure is the mother of success’. Had you never fail, you would never learn how to do it right. Teaching does not just happen in school or in any formalized framework. We could further elaborate this point with an example of president Washington with the apple tree. If it was not for his father’s guiding on developing courage and honesty to admit faults at his young age, he would have not been transformed in to a great leader of the America. Therefore, by confronting our negative characters, not only are we able to amend it in time but it also ingrains the virtue quality for us to grow better as a person. Also, people seem to find strength and resilience every time they tumble. Looking at the case of Jack Ma, one of the most successful entrepreneurs globally, who got rejected by Harvard for 15 times. Thanks to Harvard for pointing out that he is not good enough for the school, it pushed Jack to continue fighting to accredit and prove himself to the world.

However, one might argue that teachers should focus more on the positive traits instead of pointing out errors from the students. With the evident provided about, the advantage of bringing up flaws in a person is not all bad. However, we do have to consider the mental capacity and emotional quality of a person as some people might be vulnerable to judgement. If such circumstances occur, educators should search for an appropriate strategy to deliver the message without hurting personal ego. For instance, methods such as personal consultation or peers’ advice might be useful tools to avoid public humiliation and emotional intrusion.

In summary, as I cogently elaborated above, there is no ‘best way’ to teach. However, only praising good conducts and avoiding mistake is definitely not the ideal solution.