Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This is an extremely controversial claim to make, not that this is novel, but the idea has seldom found any refuge. The statement itself opens the weak spot of those in power. such a claim obviously require some elaboration. The notion of the sentence is that we are not here to abandon the those in power but helping is dessimation of power which is extremely important for democracy to exist. This very idea paved the way for vote where after a certain period of time, mostly after five years, one get the chance to review the government. If they are satisfied they continue and if they are not then they make way for new one. Though its about further investigation that which model of voting can really keep a check on power as we have seen significant tampering of data and facts in order to manipulate to check the public from making informed decision.

That kept aside, we have not seen these model being replicated in most of the other fields mentioned like the CEO of the business does not change more often. They stay in control for significant number of years; moreover their is hardly any accountability to the public. The power to change the CEO is limited to the member of the board, much of which also contains the close associates or the family of the owner/ CEO. These open up to a which chances of biased dynastic rules. Though the important point being the stake of the public and the public instituted government in these companies. As we saw with Facebook this year, even after the massive fraud of cheating its customers off privacy company went ahead with just minimal tweaking of their privacy policy. The changes were such that it legally enabled the company to use the user's data. After the case Zuckerberg must have stepped down but such was not the case.

The primary opposition to this claim is that such change in the management of a company or a education institute will lead to instability and further lead to decrease in the quality. Such a view draws support from myth, created by the media, that companies or and educational institutes run on the individual brilliance and not on collective work and interaction. While we seen a unstated strategy used by Facebook was to take user reviews to make their product more salable.

The change in the leadership in five years can indeed make these bodies more accountable and democratic. A democracy cannot survive if its institutions are autocratic.