Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

In this modern world to become a successful student, professional or a leader a person need to be skilled, passionate and laborious. Everyone renovates themselves through trial and error process continuously by utilizing experience. For this one need to have energy, alacrity and skills. But, experience is the thing one can achieve by working for long time. Hence, I am not in the favor claimed in the statement that in any field business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

First of all, author gives a reason that the surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership. But a new leader can’t lead the path successfully unless he doesn’t have any experience. Experience is the thing which introduces a professional to the obstacles, patience, mentality of working in team and skills. Without the skills in the specific field, one can’t surely lead the team successfully. For achieving experience one has to work for long period. It will rather hamper to create a feasible leader if corporations shift the leaders from the post after every five years. For example, we can consider Steve Jobs who established Apple, is a true leader. His leading helps Apple to be the best tech company. But after his quit, this giant tech company suffererd from the lack of a suitable leader and new leadership was not able to fill the place of him which unambiguously indicates that the lack of some qualities in the new leader that have to be achieved through experience.

Secondly, the institution will not get benefit from the plan that was taken by previous leader and can’t materialize any long-term plan because the new leader will interpret the previous plan. As a result, institution can’t achieve something bigger for the scant of longer plan. For example, leaders always need to stick to their policy and ethics to conduct a country successfully. The country will achieve a few if they change their plan frequently. In Bangladesh, the ruling party Awamileague always invest in the defense sector where the opponent party when comes in power rarely invest in the defense. Consequently, the defense sector of this country hasn’t developed well. If the opponent party also would invest to defense sector with a longer plan keeping harmony with current party surely the defense become powerful by this day.

Finally, author mentions here five years and it doesn’t make any sense clear. Why does a leader need to be replaced after every five years? It actually depends on the productivity of the leader with which he is serving the corporation. There is no need to replace him after five years if a leader doing great. In the same way, one needs to be replaced before five years if he failed to prove himself as a good leader.

In summary, from the above analysis and examples it is lucid that to have success for an institution, leaders need not to be replaced after every five years for revitalization because there are lots of uncertainties that come with a new leader. Rather, it has been proved that the revitalization comes with leadership of an experienced leader.