Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The human mind and the concept of time have a somewhat puzzling relationship. We have all come across the saying “Change is the only constant”. Nothing can truly remain the same indefinitely. Regardless of how great a leader can be, his or her tenure cannot go on forever. I agree with the claim that in fields where one individual gets to exercise the most power over a majority – like that of business, politics and education, it is better if he/she steps down from power every few years. This claim is buttressed by the idea that new leadership brings about revitalization. I couldn’t agree more with this path of reasoning.

The world has witnessed some of the most trend-setting and world-changing ideas every time there is a change of power in the major fields of technology, business and politics. An individual when elected newly is brimming with fresh ideas and is full of energy to execute these ideas. Ever since Sundar Pichai has stepped up as CEO of Google, the company has introduced some of the awe-inspiring technology like the Google Assistant, Google Lens and not to mention the out of the world smartphone technology with the Google Pixel and Android Pie. Sure, these were the collective efforts of numerous engineers and computer scientists, yet, Sundar is gifted with the management acumen to bring these ideas into effect.

In line with this thought, another instance where new leadership sparked new hope was when Narendra Modi was elected as the Prime Minister of India. The country had been close to rotting under the long and tiring rule of the Congress under the then Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh. Several facets influencing the country’s development underwent a major change once the Modi government came to power. There was the demonetization bill to tackle the case of severe corruption. There was the subsidization of LPG for low income families and several other steps taken towards the development of the nation.

It is thus safe to argue that when one particular individual or team of individuals tend to remain in power for a considerably long time, there occurs a dearth of novel ideas and refreshing policies to tackle the new and upcoming challenges. It would be somewhat of a nightmare for most of the American citizens if the Trump government was to remain in power indefinitely. It is imperative that every few years there should be a change of leadership for any organization or business or nation to be exposed to refreshing ideas and ultimately grow.