Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic raises the issue of enterprise revitalisation through new leadership. The assumption is that those in authority should step down after a five year tenure. Indisputably this has some element of truth in it. However, one could argue that such transitions leave a vacuum that may not be in line with his successor’s policy causing disruptions in acheiving major milestones.

However, this is not always the case as many at times, the predecessors goals eventually reaches completion especially if his sucessor has a similar line of vision. There has been some cases where those in power needed to step down even before end of tenure their (which is usually four years) becaue they could not handle the issues before them or maybe they had some certain type of scandal which could taint the company’s brand. In this case, i support the author’s position that new leadership is required. My point being that what is not broken should not be fixed. If the current leadership is not performing to expectations or effectively, then a change in power is acceptable.

Notwithstanding this is not always the case, in some instances, a visionary leader may need to be in power for a long time in order to actualise his vision. For instance, the case of Steve Jobs. He was the founder of apple and CEO of Apple. At some point, he was kicked out of the company because his ideas were becoming ludicrious. This however backfired because Apple was not doing so well in the market. At some point he had to be brought back in order for the company to retain its dominant posiiton in the markey. Apparently, Steve jobs had a vision that no one could see and this is only fitting since he created the product. Hence, this evidence demonstrates that the path to success for any company is not always leadership change.

Lastly, another instance to further buttress my point is in the case of my country Nigeria. Nigeria is an abundant rich country with bad leaders. Howwever from time to time, fate strikes us a good hand and we get a great leader who implements favourable policies. Once election year comes, this great leader is changed and for an incompetent one who comes and discontinue these policies in order to pursue his own selfish agenda and recoup money spent on getting him into office. In such a case as this, it is always better to allow this great leader to stay in office a while longer until a suitable successor can be found. Another example is in the case of a family business where the owner of the business death causes his empire to crumble.

In conclusion, although there is some sense to author’s reason especially if the person is authority is underperforming, this does automatically mean that power change is the surest path to business success. A visionary or highly performing authority should be in power until a suitable and worthy successor is found. Thi would prevent instability and chaos and ensure that great milestones are acheived.