Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

I only partially agree with this claim and the argument used to justify it.

Traditionally, the soundness of an argument or a theory should always be justified and proved. This relates to scientific honesty and methods. In fact, phenomelogy tells us that scientists got along plenty of rough arguments to decide whether theories are correct. For example, physicists and mathematics wondered if light is composed of discrete particules or is only a wave. Both supporters of each side imagined and provided experiments to prove their opposing counterparts they were right. On the same time, they could readjust the axioms of their own theory. Finally, one scientist managed to set everything down and stated eventually that light was both a wave and a particle. Thus, this scientific debate was closed peacefully on sound arguments.

However, this paragon of a story cannot be applied to our everyday struggles. Indeed, we should consider the fact that our opponent may be stubborn or not willing to hear your arguments. Then, finding ways to convince and persuade is of no avail. The example of Galileo coping with a narrow-minded Church is a good one. In fact, he made meticulous and patient observations of celestial objects to prove and support the theory of heliocentrism. Yet, the Church claimed this theory was against the Bible and thus Galileo should be punished and renounce to his proven thesis. This example shows how genius or honest a rational person can be, if the person you are talking to is not listening or is tangled in its own beliefs, whatever you say is useless.

To consider a more present day so-called debate, some people believes Earth is flat even if scientists from the Antiquity proved Earth was round and space pictures exist of our planet. Because what humans tend to only trust what is sensible, what we can see and what we can firmly touch, we are easily fooled by our senses. Flat-earthers think our planet is that way, because at our scale, we feel the Earth flat. To convince people of your claim, you should be sure that they will be receptive to your arguments and willing to hear and that they share with you the common basis knowledge to understand what you mean. Otherwise, any patent prove will surely be rejected and overlooked.

To conclude, even if the process explained by the claim is justified and should be followed because of scientific honesty, it cannot be effectively applied if the people you want talk with do not listen to you or do not have the knowledge to understand what your proof.