Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline

Everyone have their own political opinions. Stating their opinions does not mean that the quality of political discourse has been weakened. The standards for covering the political topics will not change if there are too many opinions by people. I do not agree with the reason for the claim as the opinions of people will not weaken the quality of political discourse. People use social media as a means to express their opinions. They have use the social media as a platform for expressing their views, criticizing an action, praising a decision, etc. By having a platform for people to express their political opinions it will not weaken the quality of political discourse. In fact, it will provide a better view on what news to cover.

Social media can be used as a platform to get the opinions of the people and to express opinions of the people. This platform provides us a view of the people, which gives information of a decision or a move made by leaders. This provides a better view for leaders as well, so they can get to know the peoples reaction and how to make measures for the next steps. For example, let us consider a rule passed by a leader stating there will be increase in import taxes in order to promote local goods. In this case the people views from the social media can be used to explain the peoples reaction to cover the news on this new rule. These opinions can also be used by the leaders to know the peoples reaction and to take steps accordingly to address them.

Some might argue that opinions posted through social media can weaken the quality of covering news. They might assert that there are too many opinions on a topic about what to do and the standards will weaken for covering this news. To illustrate this let us take an example of the current ongoing issue of a plan to build the longest statue in India. There are a lot of views on social media stating better plans instead of wasting money on building the statues. So, people might argue that presence of too many opinions can cause the quality to weaken. But having too many opinions on a topics provides a broader view of the topic. By analysing the issue the news coverage can be made highlighting the better opinions of all. So by having too many opinions not only gives us a broader view but also provides us with many more plans that leaders might not be thinking of.

So, the emergence of the social media will not weaken the quality of the political discourse. In fact, it will gives a broad view of the political views there by making the coverage of the news very effective.