Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

During our parent's and grandparents' time, they used to take up jobs that would help them cater to their families and survive financially, while today's young generation is more inclined towards following their dreams and passion without taking into consideration whether their dreams would be fruitful in the future. The prompt is stating that although young people receive advice to follow their dreams, they must be more inclined towards picking up goals that are worthy. In my opinion, young people should strive at following their dreams which makes them happy rather than picking worthy goals that does not give them a satisfactory feeling based on the below example.

To begin with, the prompt is conveying that young people should emphasize more on picking worthy goals rather than heeding the advice to follow their dreams. For instance, Parents always stress the importance of government jobs and advise their children to aim for them without taking into consideration, whether that job brings satisfaction or joy to one's life. Parents think that job security is the most important priority over joy and satisfaction. While young people believe that the job of their dream would help them work much better and provide that work-life balance that they crave.

The above example illustrates that young people should follow their dreams. and the prompt is not true.

In conclusion from the above instance young people should follow their dreams.