Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on

picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

A real dream is one which you can see which you can see with your eyes open. The society may consider the passion with which one follows this dream to be self-centric, but actually this passion makes following the dream to be a real worthy goal. Inadvertently, everything that a human does can be claimed to be done with an ulterior motive in mind. Every path a human treads, every good deed or even a bad deed a human does, always for some matter has a selfish motive behind it. But, only when a person is happy with his life, he /she can make a difference to the society in which he/she resides. Therefore, if we want to see world as a better place to live in we should in fact help younger generation to follow their dreams and make real efforts to make their dreams come true.

To our astonishment people more often than not, advice younger generation to "follow their dreams" but actually do they really mean what they say? What do the people who advice the youth to follow their dreams actually mean? Most often, they mean following the conventional career goals or following what it seems to be ideal in the society. They would never advice someone be a criminal, when they say "follow your dreams". In fact, it generally means to be a responsible citizen and an individual who can emotionally, financially and socially sustain in this world.

Next thing the pops up in our mind is why do people advice the young people to follow their dreams? There could be probably many reasons behind doing so. Sometimes when our parents for that matter advise us to "follow our dreams", they are the ones who actually are the one to frame up the dream for us. They figure out that they could somehow fulfil their dreams through their children. It is quite possible that a mother would advise her daughter to complete higher education and end up with a lucrative job, which was actually the mother dreams which she couldn't achieve due to financial constraints.

How does one figure out what is better for an individual- a worthy goal and the goal that includes following one's dream? A worthy goal may be the one that ends up in a far superior position, with fame and name, but is that what one really wants. Would an individual be happy after achieving all that is ideally considered to be worthy? Consider it selfish or not, but an individual even if he/she doesn't turn out to be successful in the process of achieving his/her dream would be happy and would make an effort to make the others around him/her happier. Following our dream is a very strong holding force that keeps us grounded and focused and that's all one needs to be satisfied in life. In a way, a real worthy dream is the one that includes following one's dream even if that is considered selfish by the society.