Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

A nation is comprised of diverse societies. A society constitutes of various people. Every society has their history, culture, religion and traditions. They carry their tradition in form of their values, religion and culture. They reflect their values in form of literature, architecture and social means. I don’t completely agree with the claim that governments must support the cities, in which these societies inhabit, financially so that the cultural traditions are generated.

Firstly, the societies form communities of their own in order to preserve their cultural and religious traditions. These communities arrange the necessary funds for themselves in order to sustain or develop. Hence it is not necessary for the governments to ensure funds to its cities only because they preserve nation’s cultural traditions.

Secondly, it is not necessary that only the major cities are responsible for the preservation of the culture. Many small towns or villages consist of deep cultural traditions. Hence providing financial support only to the major cities might prove redundant.

Moreover, rather than the cities being primarily concerned for the preservation of culture, it is the people who preserve culture. For example, in a major city where only modernized people live with no intention to preserve the culture of their society, funding that city with the aim of preserving its culture would be worthless. Instead, they should fund those small communities which are formed to conserve one’s society’s culture.

However, the claim that government should fund the major cities in order to thrive is accurate. A city needs financial support in order to survive. The funds can be used in infrastructure, law enforcement, public use, basic necessities such as home for poor, regulating everyday affairs etc.

On the other hand, funds are required to maintain archeological sites which, some way or other depicts nation’s cultural values. But it is the only aspect of preserving culture which explicitly requires funding of the city.

For example, Gujarati people, even though, live in different parts of the nation form communities to celebrate their traditions. These communities are not dependent of government funds in order to sustain. And effectively if we consider the same for all the societies, government funds are not necessarily needed to preserve its cultural values.

Hence I agree with the claim that the government need to ensure funds for its major cities to thrive, but the reason is not entirely true.