"College and university education should be free for all students, fully financed by the government."

Education enlightens people's mind with its vast knowledge in every field; it teaches mankind think logically. So, government should take necessary steps to educate every child under its authority up to a certain level. But in many countries, there are many inhabitants living under poverty line unable to send their children even in primary schools. So, government should patronize education up to secondary level but providing full finance even in university level would pose some untoward consequences.

After passing out from school level, many students choose their career in management, medical, engineering or technological field; moreover they have important roles in maintaining balance in society. But, if government sponsors the education in university level, then many of them may be tempted to pursue their higher studies in universities which in long run will yield tough competition among qualified students to secure lesser posts and even unemployment due to lack of vacancies in particular field. Moreover, many of them will not get jobs according to their education, honors and menial jobs will lead to dissatisfaction and frustration. This can belie about higher education in the eye of new aspirants. Besides, this discrepancy will incite students of other field; they can also demand full financial aid from government. But Government also has their responsibility in public welfare, so investing a huge amount in education will curtail fiscal funding in health, national security, transportation etc. Thus full government aid in universities is not an astute decision.

Secondly, fully Government financed education can degrade the level of pedagogy imparted by universities. With increase in number of students Govt. has to provide sufficient laboratory equipment, library, efficient teachers. To recruit more faculties with standard salaries will become burden to Govt. and if it leads to reduce the amount of remuneration, many prolific teachers will be unwilling to teach in universities and this will deteriorate educational system.

Albeit, there are many shortcomings in introducing free university education, Govt. can consider exceptional cases. There are many brilliant and intelligent students whose family can’t afford the cost of higher education in our society. This situation must be considered with sympathy and Govt. can sanction monetary aids to those pupils, if they aren't helped to pursue their higher studies it will be injustice to their merits and the country may lose a future researchers or scientists.

Therefore, introducing free education in university level will produce many undesirable problems in country but govt. should patronize only those students with extraordinary merits.