College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Encourage students to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to a job is, in part, a good idea, but the ideal situation would be that those courses that seem most likely to get a job for him would also be the ones that the student likes, but we know that is not always the case. So, the student must choose a mixture of courses that he likes and courses that will give him abilities to get a good job in the future, prioritizing the courses that apply to both groups.

First, the student must put in balance what he expects and wants from his career. If he expects it to be what he dreamt of, or if he wants something that gives him money and he somehow likes. A good way to get the best out of this kind of dilemma, would be to first find the courses that the student likes and will give him the abilities he will need to work, and continue from that first picking, meaning that after those first courses are chosen, he can take similar or close courses to those ones, that will also train him and grant him with useful knowledge for the job he wants. This should not be too difficult, since the student supposedly choose that particular program because it had something to do with the job he wants to do some day.

Having now these two groups of courses already chosen, the ones he likes and give him work related abilities, and the ones that are similar somehow to the first group, the student can now freely choose the last courses based on his own passions or for the sake of his future career.

The student must know that, even when some courses are most likely to help him get a job, there will always be space for personal pursuits, and that if he is good enough, he could get a job doing what he loves. However this can also apply the other way around, and although the student has some interests when he starts college, those interests may change over time and experience, and this might get him to be interested in the subjects more suitable to prepare him to work, and with some people, as I myself found, you can find what you really like up until the lasts semesters of the program, when you have gone in an internship or have talked to industry workers about what it is to work for certain company or in a particular location.

The best recommendation I could give a freshman, would be to choose first the best courses for his future career and that he likes, and move from there on. Having always in mind that abilities can always be learned after, or that personal interests can be followed when you have settled in a good job, or that you can find that what you really love to do is, in fact, what you are working with in your job.