Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

The claim that any company's management system should conduct routine monitoring of all its employees' e-mails is one that I partially agree with. One of the most fundamental human rights is that of privacy and no other person or institution has the right to take that away. In this case, I do not agree with the claim. However, routine checks done with specific and targeted monitoring of e-mails could alleviate important company data from being stolen and could protect the company from lawsuits and in this case, I agree with the claim.

One of the most controversial scandals that shook the United States of America was the NSA scandal. The whistleblower Edward Snowden who had worked for the NSA claimed that they had access to all kinds of information about the citizens of USA and that they monitored all of their activities and collected data. This was done with the preface of security; claiming that such checks could help in early identification of possible terror attacks and help protects the people of the country. However, people errupted in anger over having their privacy taken away from them. Noone could do anything without having the feeling of someone from the government looking over them. It was highly publicised and the controversy shook the government, forcing them to apologise and state that all data would be erased.

Furthermore, many have also drawn parallels of this controversy to the masterpiece of George Orwell, the book 1984. Similar events take place in the book as well. The government run by a person called Big Brother, keeps a watch on all its citizens and their everyday doings. This was not to protect them from any harm but to squelch any form of rebellion against the tyrannical government. The USA doing the same could make its citizens vulnerable to targeted attacks based on their political opinion and could lead to the desecration of the whole democratic system. The same applies to companies as well. People would not be able to express their opinions and take possible complaints to higher officials for it could cost them their jobs if the matter were to be monitored by the same official they were to complain against. This would take away their voices in the company and make them prisoners in their own working environment.

In contrast, targeted monitoring could be implemented to help the comapny as well. Specific key words and data could be searched for in the employee e-mails to determine if any data has been leaked or stolen. This would help the company keep a check on their confidential information without disrupting the privacy of its employees. It should also be made mandatory that only the e-mail id given by the company must be monitored and not the private e-mails of the employees. This process could prove beneficial to all.

To conclude, the above examples serve as reason why this claim, although can prove to be quite effective must not be rigidly implemented. Though it has its benefits, it must ensure to not interfere in the privacy of the company's employees and if need be must conduct monitoring very ethically, being mutually beneficial to all.