The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Given the fierce competition that exists in current world, it will be imprudent to not think about maximising one's Given the fierce competition that exists in current world, it will be imprudent not to think about maximizing one's profits.

Every corporation has a desire to succeed, which in turn fuels it's desire to earn profit. Not just to earn profit but also to keep maximising it. Otherwise the corporation will have hard time not to fail. Now as someone profits, it's bound to happen that the other person will incure a loss. So that kind of situation is bound to occur.

Increasing profit does not only benefit that particular corporation, but also creates a healthy comepition in the market. This ignites the desire to make profit in other corporations. So it's not that only the former will be doing a progress, but it will also be a source of motivation for the latter one. For instance seeing Infosys make so much profit, other technology startups got boosted and even they started making progress. Like this a chain forms that will be benefiting the whole nation.

As the corporations starts maximising their profits, it will not be only them who will be taking the whole share. The government will also be getting apportioned amount in forms of taxes. So rather hampering the progress of nation it will be aiding to it. And as the government's chest increases, the more it will be able to do for the welfare of it's nation. In terms of public transportation, roads, subsidisation and many more.

Also the people who work in these corporation are none other than people of this nation. So if the corporation is making profit than naturaly the people working in that corporation are also getting the money. So rather than creating a conflict for general welfare the corporation is taking along with them the nation towards a better future.

Now as every coin has two sides, it is not wrong to say that some people might get left behind. As the corporation makes progress, only the people connected with it are progressing. The remaining are left behind. This widdens the gap that is present between the different sections of people. For instance, the people who bought the shares of Infosys were happy when the company made huge profits. On other hand, others were left behind as they were not part of that company.

But as the pros outweigh the cons, it's evident that corporations desiring to profit are not impeding the welfare of the nation.