Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The author of the topic states that it educational institutions's responsibility to dissuade its student from striving for the fields of study that they are impossible to succeed in. Due to the controversial nature of the question, there is not a general argument for this issue. I am, however, to a great extend, against this statement. In the ensuing paragraphs, some convincing reasons will be delineated.

For one thing, it is nearly impossible for someone the predict weather a student will succeed in a particular field. Take Edison for example, when he was young, his teacher even thought that he was a fool and unsuitable to continue his study. At that time, who can image such a wired boy can achive such great success in the future? And fortunately, his mother did not give him up for what his teacher said and patiently educate Edison at home. In this case, we should learn that a person's potential is unpredictable and we do not have the right to deny anyone's right to pursuit his dream.

For another, sometimes, for a person, what matters is not weather he will succeed in a particular field but weather he enjoys what he is engaged in. Let us boldly image that a student really like math and want to choose math as his further study direction. He feels satisfied and enjoyable when he is doing math. But his school persuade him to be a writer since he gets a much higher grade in writing than in math. We can image that even thought this student may write something popular in the future, he may just regard writing as a way to make a living but could not get fun and interests in it. In this case,we should learned that success is not the only thing we need to consider when choose what to pursue in the future.

However, what I have allude above does not draw the whole picture and be suitable for all the contexts. In some case, like in a college, it is indeed a professor's responsibility to give advice to his students about which field he may not succeed, because a professor may have much more experience and knowledge than the students, who may be misled by the superfacial aspects of thing.

In conclusion, normally an educational institution do not have the responsibility or even the right to dissuade its students from pursing fields of study that they personally think the student will not succeed in.