Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Teenage is a very crucial period in a student's life. These students at this age face a decision that is likely to define how the rest of their life turns out.

The prompt suggests that educational institutes should encourage students to focus on study paths that lead to lucrative/reputed careers. Even though I accept that students will find guidance very helpful I mostly disagree with the statement for 2 reasons.

First of all, all students are different, individual people with their own hobbies, interests, strengths, and weaknesses. This is the age where they grow into their own person. Trying to force them on to only “reputable”/“safe” careers will only hinder their self-growth. For example, if a student who has an interest in becoming a writer is forced or encouraged to take up STEM as a career option he/she is likely to be unhappy in their career later on.

Research has shown that people who enjoy their jobs are likely to advance further in their careers and also have a more fulfilling life.

Secondly, teenage is a very influenceable time in a person's life. Students should be taught to follow their passion and their interests. Once they do that they are likely to be more successful in their life. If they like their jobs, they will no doubt put in more effort and create a niche for themselves in their career path. Such a person is more likely to be respected. Students should not be spoon-fed and taught to be like sheep. One should not follow anyone blindly.

Imagine if Michael Jordan had been influenced to be a musician and not play basketball. He would never have been this successful in life. Hence, students should be allowed and encouraged to choose fields of study that allow them to be the best version of themselves.

I understand that they are the same people who at the age of 17 are called minors and have little to no freedom and are suddenly expected at 18 to make life-altering decisions in terms of their career path, and thus would benefit from guidance. But, if they are misguided/convinced to follow a path they are not interested in, they are not likely to thrive and succeed at their jobs. Thus I feel, that educational institutes should guide students for all types of courses and career paths instead of just focusing on the white collared jobs.