Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Educational institutions are known to shape the career of a child as well as his or her future. Educational institutions are tasked with imparting valuable and pragmatic knowledge to the students that attend it. As a result, people are of the opinion that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I disagree with such a viewpoint, since in my opinion, the best path for a student is the one that the student chooses for themselves. It is the educational institute's responsibility to support students and help them achieve their goals, rather than deter them from it. I will present further reasoning behind my position, in the paragraphs below.

It is often the case that institutions are known for their prowess in one particular domain, such as mathematics, science, or literature. This occurs due to the proficiency of their respective faculties, in their respective fields. If a student is present in an educational institute that is known for it's mathematics background, but is himself inclined towards the domain of machine learning, might be suggested by his faculties that his choice of domain might not make him successful and he should choose mathematics as a domain. Such an instance is not true, since machine learning also requires a thorough knowledge of mathematics, dissuading a student from following what he likes is a sin committed by the faculties. There are prejudices that come in play when a person gives out suggestion to his fellow human. These prejudices, on the part of the teachers might affect the student's future, since the student might be persuing a field which he might never be competent in.

It is not just the internal variables of an educational institution that might alter a student's career choice, it is also the variables that exist outside the educational institutions. During the 1920's, the Soviet Union would decide the scientific experiments that a scientist should perform, and would ban scientists who opposed such a rein on their normal working. It is safe to say that Soviet Union did not make any significant discoveries during this time. Such a situation can occur in the contemporary world as well. It might be the case that government officials inform the college hierarchies to keep a check on the innovations that are being conjured up in their institute premises, and dissuade students from pursuing research that is of no use to the country. If such a case occurs, it is clear that educational institutions are protecting their own interests, at the expense of a student's career. It is cases like these, that bolster my claim that - it is always ideal for students to select their own path, rather than depending on others to guide them.

Proponents of the above claim might argue that students below the tenth grade might not have a very clear idea about the career path that they wish to pursue in the future. I agree with such a claim, and for children until the tenth grade, it would be ideal that they study a well-balanced curriculum that helps them discover certain key aspects of all the domains. This will ultimately help them discern the pros and cons of each domain and then decide the domain, that best suits their interest. Such a path will make sure that students are capable enough to make their own future choices, and not be influenced by the noises of the world around them.

In sum, I stand against the statement that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Educational institutes do not possess a magic ball which will help them see whether a student achieve success if he chooses a particular domain, rather it is always advisable to let students make their own life choices. It is the institute's responsibility to provide support for the students, so that they can achieve their dream.