The first step to self-knowledge is the rejection of the familiar.

Self-knowledge is the perceptive awareness of one's capabilities and strengths. For an individual to properly recognize his or her skills, they must first understand what their potentials are. Rejection of the familiar would be detrimental in acquiring self-knowledge as this is one of the major sources with which we can fully understand this concept. In my opinion, familiarity bolsters self-knowledge for two reasons.

First of all, inchoate traits in humans are effective indications of their personality. For one to fully understand themselves, they need to contemplate the little things they find of interest. For instance, a reticent young girl who spends more time reading books and articles and less time engaging in social activities would be more likely to choose a literary profession. This awareness of predilection for specific materials would shape her strengths and subsequently give hints on personal knowledge. Her awareness of what she is familiar with would support her important life decisions - career choices and social interactions. For this reason, the familiar traits exhibited by individuals would be a precursor for knowledge about themselves.

Secondly, familiar traits in humans are what shapes and build their individual personalities. For example, a person who has developed interests in science and technology is very likely to eschew quixotic personalities. Over time, the individual would have become overly familiar with thoughts that need technical justification. The idea of practicality and theory is what the individual is likely to display and this subsequently shapes their knowledge about themselves.

However, some would argue that the rejection of what one is familiar with might help in building a solid foundation for self-knowledge, this fails to consider the impacts the familiar traits have made in the development of an individual's personality.