The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

last year, Kensington academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift nutrition. this company served low-fat, low-calorie meals that students are not finding enjoyable, and this based on the review given by a parent of a student currently studying there. hence it is assumed that students will start bringing their own less healthier meals resulting in certain health consequences for the students there. while the entire situation lacks certain information, a few things need to be looked up before arriving at a conclusion.

firstly, it needs to be considered that the entire review about swift is based on the words of a couple of children who might as well be joking at the time to avoid their current meals, or if they were highly fond of the earlier meal providers. it also doesn't mention if the children are middle school kids or teenagers because a recent study had shown that teenagers, upon the arrival of puberty are most prone to change in food habits and being moody about the same. a similar scenario could be possible for the kid and his friends mentioned in the letter.

secondly, the meal program has been into existence for a year hence each and every parent is aware about the same, also the kensington academy might be charging an annual fee for the same. Keeping this into mind it should be considered that the parents are less likely to send the kids with meals from home or provide lunch money on daily basis using which the children could buy lesser healthy meals from outside.

Also replacing swift with another vendor doesn't ensure that all the students will surely eat from the newly appointed vendor. with the social media providing various content on different types of food the kids are sure to revolt against any meal plan that is presented to them on a weekly basis but with the above mentioned points and the basic urge of hunger, it will eventually habituate them to co-exist with the meal system being provided to them. the current system at Kensington falls under the same and also provides a good nutritional balance with Swift Nutrition.