The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

The statement general welfare of a nation's people is better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers,artists, or scientists is absolutely right and i completely agree with the author statement. A Nation is know as collective of people it does not indicate specific person.The overall growth and general welfare of people indicates the nation greatness.

Firstly,there many other nations in which artists, scientists or rulers gained immense praise and recognition, while the general people in their country suffered very much. For example in North Korea the leader is famous for developing nuclear bombs but there own people suffered in unhygienic and poor conditions. Saudi Arabia is oil rich country but with poor environmental conditions, people suffer more because of those conditions. Based on one factor we cannot decide the nations greatness. Inspite of being oil rich country people are living in miserable conditions.

Secondly,GDP is the factor by which nations greatness is measured. It indicates the country population greatness by which general welfare of the people is determined. Though the rulers or artist get name to their respective nation, but its very own nation people are suffering from poor conditions that can't indicate the nation's greatness, when the people in their nation lives in hygienic and stabilized conditions nation's greatness is determined.

Finally, the rulers, artists or scientists try hard to get name to their nation which is commendable but ones well being comes first, so nations greatness should be determined on the basis of welfare of people.