Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Art of a society is mirror of the thoughts or beliefs of the the society.It is reflection of the values of the people of that locality which sets them apart from others. The speaker here claims that the government should invest in arts as much they do in military. However there are some cases in which art might need some financial help of he government i strongly disagree with the speaker.

Firstly the main reason for my disagreement with the speaker is for one simple quandary,is it the duty of the government to preserve or promote art? According to me the primary duty of the government is to satiate the basic needs of the people like electricity,water,shelter and security. Art is something which is not a basic need in order to keep life moving. When in analogy of art with military it is no doubt that military is quite more important than art. The government can invest in art but not at the cost of compromising basic neccessities. For example consider a case in which two countries are between a horrendous war at such time the responsibility of the government lies in mainly sufficing the basic requisites of the people and security not in art.

Secondly art is something that must be preserved and promoted by public. It is true that art reflects the beliefs of a certain locality so it is the duty of the people to preserve it or burgeon it. In many countries there are many private organization or communities which completely devotes all of it's efforts to art preservation.For example a society in india named "Kalasmita" preserves art and even promotes it by frequently holding events.

However there are some cases in which the government might have to come and step in. For example consider a form of art in a country which is dying and no private or public support is available to it. In such cases the government should make an effort to revive it.But before investing in the art the government officials must investigate thoroughly the reason of abandonment of the art and after the investigation if the reason for restoring and reviving the art is defensible enough than only the government must invest in it but not at the cost of compromising basic needs of the people of that locality.For example consider a unique music playing style of a community which is no longer appreciated nor attracts anyone anymore,in such situation the art must not be forcefully revived.

Thus according to me the government in some situation should make an effort either financially or in any other manner to preserve or promote art but the effort must not be at the cost of compromising the basic needs of the people.