Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

The author of the statement claims that the governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development. Many of us argue that the statement will hold all the time and others will counter this by providing an example for the same. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and provide sound reasoning for the same.

Research and development is the necessity of the country to survive. In recent years, humans have achieved a lot in the field of research and development and there is high competition among the countries not only that are developed but also in the developing countries. The Government is putting a good amount of their GDP in these programs and the reason being nobody wants to lack in this field and is also a matter of prestige for them.

If a country has dominance in scientific research and development then it will be automatically dominant the whole world, for example, the world has only one superpower that is the USA, because they have achieved a lot through their scientific and research work and no country can withstand with them. And this will also bring prosperity in society.

Another reason for a country to encouraging these work is to increase its influence in the region, for example, India and China want to increase their influence in the Asia region, Brazil and Argentina in the South America Continent and Saudi Arab and Iran in middle east and all these can be only possible if the countries are having good resources and are good in the field of research and development.

But due to all the above reasons, countries are now starting harming their biodiversity and wilderness areas and this could lead us to a severe problem in the coming future. Many of the species were extinct from the earth because of the side-effect of these work and many are declared as endangered species. The other side effect of this is global warming or climate change and we are now facing the problem because of this.

In nutshell, we can say scientific research and development are good for the country to increase their influence in the region and to dominate the world, but this does not mean that in the name of development and research we harm our biodiversity and nature. We should carry out development and research work without harming the biodiversity and wilderness areas.