GRE Issue:Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people

The statement simply claims that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people. The statement may sounds a little bit absolute especially when the definitions of word “great” are distinct. Some people might think a great nation simply means a nation occupying a large number of acres, while others could regard a great nation as one in which people’s welfare is desirable and they live happy lives in general. Therefore, whether the statement is true or not depends the definitions of “great” one might give.

When a great nation refers to one which defeats numerous surrounding countries and has much territory, the surest indicator of a great nation could be represented by achievements of its rulers. Alexander the Great is an excellent example of this point. The greatest achievements of Alexander the Great are not only numerous victories in battle but also the establishment of Macedon, one of the largest empires of the ancient world. The rise of Macedon, from a small kingdom, to one dominating the entire Hellenic world can hardly be achieved without great leadership of Alexander the Great. Study of achievements of this leader, people could easily understand why Macedon is considered as a great nation with respect to territory and domination. Thus, in some cases, the achievements of its rulers are able to represent the surest indicator of a great nation.

In contrast to statement, provided that people believe a nation full of cultural and technological achievements as a great one, the achievements of artists and scientists may serve as the surest indicator of a great nation. Take ancient China for instance. A majority of people in different parts of the world think ancient China was one of the greatest nation at that time largely because the technology and arts were both advanced and prosperous compared to other countries. The achievements of artists and scientists, ranging from beautiful vases to the invention of compass and printing skills, made great contributions to Asia as well as Europe. Also, examination of achievements of artists and scientists of one country illustrate indirectly how mighty and prosperous this nation once was. Therefore, instead of the general welfare of its people, the achievements of artists and scientists represent the surest signal of a great nation.

Nevertheless, some people put a high value on welfare of its people when they consider which country is qualified for a great one. In this case, the statement holds true. Imagine, like Macedon and ancient China in which large amounts of people live poor lives whereas only aristocrats leading luxurious lives, these countries can hardly be regarded as great nations regardless of what accomplishments their rulers, artists or scientists make. A great nation, in some sense, must ensure its people have equal rights, lead decent lives and enjoy favorable welfare. Otherwise, no matter how this nation is “great” in some aspects, it will probably be overturned in the long term by its rebellious masses. As a result, maybe the surest indicator of a great nation is represented by the general welfare of its people.

In conclusion, whether the statement holds true or not largely depends on the answers to the definitions of “great”.