GRE sample issue pool essay topic 128 Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your

For the reason why it was established, educational institutions are the major reason why an economy exists because skilled and knowledgeable individuals who pass through educational institutions manage and operate in various segments that make up the economy of any country. Of course, for the success of a nation's economy, educational institutions have to contribute by releasing the best of professionals every year to be absorbed by the labor market.

However, if all fields of study are subsidiaries to major segments that hold an economy, on what grounds does one classify a career as lucrative or not? Do students choose only the lucrative fields of study to oversaturate the labor market for their chosen careers? Obviously to the detriment of other careers which suffers the less absorption of skilled people that will lead its growth and development, for example, in Nigeria, medicine, and surgery for several past decades were promoted as one of the lucrative careers which led to an average parent wanting at least one of their child to become a medical practitioner, today, the labor market for medical doctors is saturated leaving a large percentage of doctors jobless, some with jobs are being underpaid while others manage menial jobs which is not related to their field of study, this situation has caused less attraction from the younger generation to pursue a career in medicine. On the other hand, Agriculture, which was frowned at by most students, had very little entry when compared to the average number of students in a department. Today, the market for agriculture is huge and needs more professionals. Graduates are going back to take up agricultural courses from Universities and training institutions.

In addition, all the fields of study in educational institutions are meant to be evenly studied by students. If the proposer of this discussion topic focuses students' attention on a lucrative field, then who are the “unlucrative fields” meant for? The less privileged? the not-so-smart students? if none, it means “unlucrative field” should be scrapped since it doesn't guarantee a student a secure future. Sadly it cannot be scrapped, because all fields of study contribute to the growth and development of a country’s economy.

Taking attention to trends, in the 18th century, an educational institution can see political science or law as a lucrative career but presently, a career in Technology or management is seen as lucrative, that is to say, in the future, another set of careers will be termed lucrative as well. Therefore, there is actually no career more lucrative than the other.

Also, the discussion topic assumes that all students will be good at fields of study that the institution term lucrative, for instance, if the engineering field is seen as more lucrative than linguistics, a student that loves languages and not so good in engineering will fail in an engineering career while trying to follow the institution's opinion. Generally, opposing the discussion, Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose a field of study they are passionate about, till then will they be able to make the best out of their chosen career, make a sustainable living for themselves, strive to stay innovative on how emerging trends will improve their career, and finally contribute their quota to the growth and development of the country.