If rituals did not exist we have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to help us define ourselves social and culturally.

Essay topics

Rituals are basically religious and solemn ceremony consisting of a series of actions performed according to the prescribed order. Since prehistoric times human beings have invented plethora of rituals and ceremonies. Some of them are good and others detrimental. These are practiced mainly for their symbolic and practical importance and they gradually become part of our life. There are many rituals and ceremonies from the time when a person is born until the time of death. I am of the view that ceremonies and rituals help us define ourselves socially and culturally.

Firstly, if rituals do not exist we have to invent them. These rituals help us to define the correct path, keep us on the right path, to have belief, gives us inner strength and peace of mind. For instance worshiping god going to church, to temple or a mosque and offering prayers gives us the identity of the religion. Moreover, religious rituals brings us closer, develops bond and trust with our community.

Secondly, some rituals support the person at happy and sad times while some rituals are seasonal filled with joy and happiness. To exemplify, wedding, birth, graduation are happy moments enjoyed with family and friends. In contrast, funeral are moments of grief, the rituals brings all people together and support the family members. The rituals like Diwali of Hindus, "Id" of Islam, Chinese New Year or Christmas are annual and bring entire community together.

In addition, rituals help us to identify ourselves. For instance Hindus and Muslims are identified by their colorful festivals and ceremonies, Buddhist and Jains by their principles of “Ahimsa” which means non-violence, Chinese for their ‘red colored’ new year. Thus, rituals also identify religion as a whole.

Except of some rituals which involve pain and agony to human, the rituals in true sense gives us an identity, belongingness to a group or a community. Moreover, in the contemporary world where earth is a “global village” we need to differentiate ourselves from the others, socially & culturally. In my opinion rituals and customs are important for religious belief, for a brake from routine life etc and if they don’t exist we need to invent them to define ourselves and our community as a whole.