It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

The mind of an individual is moulded by two chief factors: first, which is happening inside us, and second, the activities in the outer realm we live in. When faced with situations that call for our subtleness to discern which faculty to involve, we find often find our own beliefs taking part in a superior manner. Thus, adhering to our beliefs often prove less harmful than compromising them.

Many a times, importance given to one’s own self supersedes any other parameters, be it in taking decisions or undertaking a new venture. What we firmly believe makes us an individual- an individual who is superior to any other forces around. Such is the power of individuality, which has often witnessed the test of time and place, and has grown stronger and stronger with our gradual living of life. What we accumulate in our life span - education, knowledge, reasoning capabilities, pragmatism and wisdom, forms the basis of our strong individuality. Thus, our lives are so deeply rooted in our own understanding that many a times, it becomes the paramount factor to rely on our own senses and beliefs.

But what happens when situations beckon us to abandon our beliefs and force us to resort to steps which our conscience battles against? When comprising such held beliefs prove unwarranted, we lose the guidance that our own moral self provides us in the long run, we lose self-control, our own righteousness, and the ability to trust in our own selves. Adhering to our own beliefs paves us a path of guidance, shows us the way of development and leading life that we find and believe to be the best of all approaches and provides us with encouragement. Instead of allowing our decisions to be muddied by external forces, we can solely rely on our individual self for actions. Thus, to adhere to our beliefs proves more advantageous, and is hence less harmful than forsaking them.

On the contrary, do we have a specific model to ascertain that our beliefs and our thinking is correct, morally acceptable and does not flout basic norms? It is then when it becomes wiser not to adhere strongly to stringent beliefs, which might have harmful repercussions, to one’s own self as well as to people or situations in general. This can be seen from the tyranny commanded by Hitler, his stringent insular beliefs, his racism and intolerance against Jews, which ultimately brought about his downfall. Holding to one’s belief is nevertheless wise, it however becomes fatuous when such beliefs goes beyond one’s individuality and affect our environment otherwise.

For developing a holistic individuality, we must rely thoroughly on our judgement and perceive the situations in which we are placed, and hence decide whether sticking to our own beliefs, or taking into account external factors and comprising our individual faculties will be wiser. Strengthening our own trust in our beliefs is better than compromising them, but it comes with caveats.