It is the responsibility of the government to support artists. Explain to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The author of the issue state that it is incumbent upon the government to patronize art and artist in a given society. Due to the controversial nature of this question there is not a general argument on this issue. I am, however, to a great extent of the conviction that one of the main, if not the only, duties of each government is meeting the existing demands of its artists. In the ensuing paragraphs some convincing reasons will be delineated to collaborate my personal stance.

To commence, artists in all society, regardless of their major, introduce the culture and customs of that country to the other countries worldwide. This reason explain why the government should put artists in their first priority when it comes to budget allocation. Broadly speaking, artists are among the most vulnerable member of society whose main concern is producing delicate piece of art. If the government patronize artists financially they do not look for a secondary job to earn enough money to fill their stomach. To elucidate more on the issue when a talented artists does not make money out of creating art, he/she look for a more profitable job. The one that he/she can make living with. As a corollary, due to less attention paid, the quality of piece of art deteriorates. The importance of the issue is to the extent that not until artists are certain about their future do they produce high quality works.

Another reason that cannot go unnoticed is that by supporting artists, the government can enrich the culture of that country and transmit it to the next generation. To put it in general word, the culture of a country is like a pillars that stabilizes all the countries and nation that live in that country. It is generally held as an axiom that the passage of time adversely affects the cultural heritage of a country and most of these legacies that have been transmitted generation to generation do not resist the test of time. That’s why artists can play an irreplaceable role in this realm.

However, what I alluded to above cannot be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside with the innumerable benefits it has, indisputably, if the government support the artists it might impose its value upon the piece of art produce by the artists. That being so, the real value of art, which is expression of artists feeling, is question more simply stated, that interference of government might not be always productive.

In light of the reasons elaborated, I reiterate that if the government patronize artists, they are encouraged to produce quality works. It's due to the fact that they introduce culture of a country to the world and the only profession that they have expertise is art, which is why it is highly recommend that the authorities put this issue their first priority.