"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest- rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

In this argument, author claims that new jazz club in Monroe will give a city tremendous profit. However, this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumption and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands

First of all, the author’s sated that nearest jazz club is 65 miles away so proposed club will monopolized the local market. However this does not provide any evidence to support this assumption. Even if 65 miles away from the city, people may prefer the quality of its music and its food. Moreover, there will be other factors that people living in Monroe’s working area is near to jazz club, which is 65 miles apart. Also, it is not certain if the C Note can attract customers if the competitor offers more promotion and amenities which C Note is unable to trump out and the possibility of future upcoming competition cannot be ignored. Therefore, further evidence that existing jazz club is needed to support the claim. Unless the author offers sufficient data, this assumption is logically flawed.

Similarly, the claim that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe depends on the three possible reasons. While success of jazz festival is indicated by the attended number of people, it need to verify that all of the attendant of festival was Monroe’s people. There might be travelers or jazz club’s ardent fan who follows every concert. In addition, the highest-rated radio program will not certify the popularity of jazz music but the rate might be granted by a lack of alternatives in the relevant time slot or due to the radio hosts quality and popularity. Moreover, nationwide study will not indicates the only one city’s popularity. To satisfy the claims more detail data and convincing evidence will be needed whether a local preference for jazz music is indeed given since the argument is largely pointless if it is not the case.

To sum, the author’s assumption that new jazz club in Monroe will give a massive profit is logically flawed based in the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the condition and possible factors of potential and existing competitors and jazz popularity in Monroe. In conclusion, the author’s argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.