Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is not rare in today's world that we hear of a convict committing murder, or a thief stealing expensive items/antiques from a store or maybe, chain snatching. All these articles or stories can be read almost daily in the newspapers or seen in news channels. When we hear about these types of news, we generally make a negative image of that convict, thief in our minds. We trust the Police and the law makers blindly without thinking twice. Noone thinks about questioning the law makers asking why this happened? what was the motive behind this crime ? Was it a bitter relation with the murderer ? or Was it because the convict was also wronged at one point of time ? The answers to these questions might lead us to think that the claim mentioned to be true.

Laws are the basic building blocks of a society's civil order system. To maintain order, discipline in the society, laws play an important role. However, we need to completely analyze the crime before applying a laws and rules to punish the wrong-doer. I completely agree with the claim that laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places before coming to a conclusion on a crime.

A survey conducted on the prisoners of the Central Jail stated that 85% of the criminals have had experience of their victim doing them wrong. This number depicts that most of the times, crime committed is a reaction to a situation,rather than being a complete action as a whole. Laws have punished these individuals on basis of a reaction and this proves, that laws dont go deep into the matter to analyze it completely and find the real moral culprit. This scenario further supports the claim as it evidences that laws should take account of circumstances before deciding on the punishment.

There are some cases where a criminal might commit a crime, unintentionally or to save themselves or someone else from parlous threat. Examples of these include young children or teenagers who are subjected to abuse, might harm the abuser, or a women threatening a person who has intentions of defiling her. These types of cases require close scrutiny to place, times and circumstances to decide on the criminal. This can only happen if there are laws which are subject to change.

In conclusion, I concede that laws should take into account the situations and the setting where the crime has taken place to decide the crime, criminal and the course of punishment.