Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim states that, Leaders are created by demands that are placed on them. In my view, this statement is not completely accurate. There are many factors which influence the making of a leader, from their personality and upbringing to their surroundings and social interacions. As a matter of fact, things expected from them may affect their decisiosn but not necessarily who they are.

A very inflammatory topic is that of Born leaders, a concept which many people agree to. Such figures have an innate ability to lead from the front despite the demands from their followers. They are naturally aware as to how any situation should be handled. One clear example, of such a head is Virat Kohli, the present captain of the Indian Cricket team, a self made man and truly exceptional when it comes to leading his teammates from the front when it comes to really nerve-wrecking matches. Never have I seen him tensed on field, always encouraging everyone to do their best and pushing them beyond their set boundaries. Such skippers and not made, but it is their inherent abilities what makes them who they are. Any pressures placed on them is like a tool they use to their advantage.

On the other hand, there are a wide pool of people, who do not have the power to guide and instruct from a young age, but situations and demands favour their luck into becoming individuals who everyone looks upto, as in the case of Narendra Modi, Prime minister of the Indian Nation. After Manmohan Singh's tenure came to an end, there was a lot of confusion as to who would be the next Head of this vast country. That is when, Modi came to light, an individual who used to sell tea at his small tea stall, went on to become the Prime minister. His story is really inspiring and he sets an example for the youth and the adults how at any age you can make the most of the opportunies available.

Another example is that of Aurangzeb who was a ruler during the Mughal times and is still regarded as the confused king. By the time, he came to rule, Mughals had already conquered most of the Indian territory. Despite all the odds in his favour, Aarangzeb turned out to be a poor ruler and so is still frowned upon by historians for the way he ruled for years.

To sum up, I feel everyone can be a leader if they have the fire in them to do so. Other elements only play a minute role in facilitating the becoming of leaders and taking them to the pinnacle of their rule. Demands placed on leaders can only decide their course of action in a certain setting and the way they modify these and come up with a coherent solution is what really makes are leader great.