The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

The upshot of the given issue has multiple viewpoints and those create a controversial situation. Unquestionably, by studying the history we understand lots of other than how people lived in earlier days. Nevertheless, we'll get to know how people were in the earlier days and it would even clarify the view of how people lived in earlier days. According to me, yes, the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Firstly, we'll understand how people were in the earlier days. Moreover, history as a whole tells us much about how people get to know various things and got adapted to it. It basically tells how human life evolved. But if you consider the living habits of a human it never changed. For instance, people in earlier days used leaves to cover themselves. Nowadays also people use clothes in replacement of the leaves but the basic habit if a human to cover himself is intact. Thus, we'll get a greater insight into the way people lived in earlier days.

Secondly, it will clarify the ways in which people in earlier days understood any given situation and how they tackled it. As the history gives detailed knowledge about the people and their habitat we can clearly understand their way of living and could claim that the way people lived before did not change rather it just evolved with time.

Undoubtedly, history does not only mentions about the people but there are other things too like how the nature changed over a period. This is true in a specific situation but considering the fact that we also get to know about the people and thus can generalize that the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.