Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

In contemporary American society, people could observe many human right movements on gender issues. among these movements, "equal pay for equal work" might be one with the greatest influence among the public. According to varies studies, females are statistically paid less than males in a similar job, sometimes for 20 percent or more. some might argue that men are more suited to work in some occupations, which might lead to them having a higher salary. this argument might stand in some cases, but it should be acknowledged that the inherent physical differences of genders are not the main cause of men and women having varied abilities in tasks.

The first point to raise is that men and women, although born with differed adaptability to physical tasks, are not necessarily being affected by their inherent differences in today's world. although it is true that men generally generate more testosterone than women, and grows more muscle than their female counterpart, it is clear that there is no such thing as a "limit" preventing women to be suited for the physical tasks that men could do. The limit on female's physical capability could be best measured by the Olympic records, which clearly shows that the boundary of female and male physical abilities are quite similar. while this does speak to the inherent physical differences between men and women, it is clear that the physical occupations of the 21st-century do not require workers to push themselves to the boundary of mankind. In other words, there is no inherent limitation for females to be as suited as males in physical occupations.

people might point to the inherent differences in the existence of the menstrual cycle and the need for childbirth as a reason for the question of suitability. Undeniably, females' efficiency in numerous tasks would be affected during their cycle and pregnancy. these handicaps, however, is proved to be the necessary sacrifice for humanity to survive, and should not be considered as a capability problem of a certain gender. when statistically analyzing the efficiency of male and female workers when the females are not handicapped by the menstrual cycle, however, many studies found that the effectiveness of female workers is as high as their male counterparts.

this argument is not aiming to claim that men and women are equally suited for all task, such a difference does exist in our society. For example, average men are statistically stronger than average women, while the college graduation rate for females is constantly higher than male college students. however, this might be more of a result of many social stereotypes than differences in genes.

In conclusion, men and women do have inherent physical differences, and might not be equally suited for all tasks, but there are most likely no causal relations between these two different observations.