Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways

The idea of originality implies thinking about an idea which is entirely new or also to include ones that involve putting together older ideas into newer ways is a debatable one. The question about how original is an original idea itself may not be very clear as most of the ideas in some way or the other is built on already exists ideas or draw some inspiration from such ideas.

Given the interdisciplinary world, using ideas or drawing inspiration from one field to an another in my opinion can definitely count as a new idea. Maybe the technique involved in solving a problem may not be entirely new but the fact the there was a question in field remained unsolved till then could count as an original one, in the sense of solving the problem. But this idea can be overused to give a false sense of original ideas. An example would be the case of machine learning which has created a buzz in the recent times. The roots of machine learning is still in mathematics but is generally use in the computational world to solve data related problems. In this the building of mathematical basis from the already existing math tools can be considered original but the mere using of different techniques of machine learning to solve a image classification problem may not be original just because the new dataset one uses in new.

Newton’s ideas about trying to design a formulation to solve dynamics of particles was entirely original .The idea of solving the same problem of dynamics was later addressed by Lagrange in a similar way but this could be applied to problems to where newton’s techniques fail. This necessary modification can also be though about as an original idea ,as the original ideas failed to work in a certain arena where as the new one did despite being a modification of the already existing ideas.Even in cooking the idea of salad would count as original and a mere addition of cucumbers to an existing salad recipe would not count as original.

Ideas about putting together simples lens to design something as a telescope or a microscope to suit different needs is definetilty orhinal even though it used already existing lens to do so. As Edison once said I stood on the shoulder of gaints to see beyond what other says. Considered one of the finest scientist of the 19th century himself has ideas borrowed from other original ones.

The divide between entirely original and original enough to put together old ones is not a clear one.But as long as it does not involve merely copying and pasting of ideas with just a few tweaks one can always consider these new ideas as original.