As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The rise of technology has been an inexorable shift in the history of humankind. As beneficial as technology has been to our day to day life, it inevitably has its own downsides. Although I agree that in some cases, increased reliance on technology will deteriorate human's ability to think, there are far more cases in which it actually improves that very same thinking prowess. How we use technology will greatly determine whether it'll be a boon for us as we improve even further or a cumbersome system that will weigh us down and deteriorate our ability to think.

First of all, technology has opened up a new era of innovation and novel thinking. New ideas are being brought about and current systems are being renovated and improved even as we speak. In these regards, technolgy has created new ways to think and value our life and thus increases our own ability to think for ourselves. It forces us to be ever more vigilant in our pursuit of the new and create unprecedented changes that will lessen our workload even further than it is now. We need new ways to defend ourselves from the technological aggression of the neighbouring or belligerent countries and that forces us to think of new defensive mechanism and employ them in practical situations. Thus, we need to think harder each day than the day before to keep pace with the world of technology.

Moreover, technology creates new platforms for us to work on. We can think of Google or facebook for example. An ubiquitous and universal searching system and a social media system that is way above its peers would be unimaginable just 50 years ago. Today we take it for granted and millions of people all around the world work in these world famous companies. The competition to join them is ever-evolving and contenders are improving themselves to keep pace with them. Countless programmers are creating new ideas, apps, games all around the world almost every single one of which requires innovative and novel thinking. Considering all the above, therefore, we can definitively say that technology improves our ability to think for ourselves.

However, as Yin and Yang, Light and Darkness, technology does have its own downsides. Over reliance on technology can have a degrading effect on the society as we become more apathetic to physical and mental work. introducing the calculator among the students results in their overuse and overfamiliarity with the technology and after some days most of them no longer want to do even simple calculations in their head anymore. Increased memory capacity of various devices decreases the need for us to keep a lot of information in our head which is helpful when the informations aren't that necessary but is deleterious when they are informations or things that we definitely need to lead our day to day life.

in conclusion, how we use technology will determine its effect on our own thinking process. Depending on our use, it can be a great boon for us that will take our thinking prowess to a ever-growing level or it can just be a simple tool on which we become over-reliant, start to not think for ourselves and one day become mindless tools ourselves.