As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology has always encouraged critical thinking and has allowed for deeper human inquiry into topics where it has assisted in many discoveries.

For centuries, technology has assisted in enabling humans to think individualistically and question dogma. Thinkers, scientists, inventors, and the like have used technologies to advance thought, science, and industry, respectively. Consider the telescope and the role it played in learning about the how the solar system works. At the time, it was common belief that the Earth was in the center of the solar system, yet the telescope helped derail the misconception. Technology can be a tool to assist new thought.

Through time, history has seen technology build on itself to advance human development and understanding of the world. The creation of new technologies has the same effect as dominoes falling on one another, each domino pushing its reach a bit further. Before the Industrial Revolution, factory laborers completed most work manually. However, starting with the cotton gin, factory work changed forever. In the following century, new inventions, like the steam engine, followed one another, each improving from the one before. Technology has shown that it facilitates development, in that it builds off itself.

With new inventions, old skills are lost, jobs are made easier, and, often, less thought is required. One might think today's technologies leave people too comfortable and complacent, with no reason to exert effort into new lines of thought. For example, even with the consensus of climate scientists on the existence of climate change, people can deny or ignore its effects with many of today's technologies. Air conditioning allows people to stay at a comfortable temperature in their homes on days with record-breaking temperatures. Also, sea walls, and equipment required to build them, protect homes from rising sea levels. Clearly, certain technologies can allow for such complacency.

For the most part, technology facilitates individualistic and new thinking and has encouraged new thought, inventing, discoveries by building on itself.