As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology is the outcome of man's evolution in the past few decades. I disagree with the issue that technology has caused more harm than good. All the tools we use now ofcourse not that perfect are still very handy and reduce much of the manual efforts. Three main reasons I think that contribute to my stand are explained below.

Firstly, technological advancement has helped bridge the gap between people sitting on totally different continents. Right from the invention of FAX machine, to telephones and now to our mobile handset. The greatest of inventions ever the Internet has helped us by connecting even the remotest parts of the world to the rest of it. May it be for some meetings or even just for converation purpose, the option of connecting with any person around the globe has been beneficial. A plethora of reading material has been made available in the form of e-books, journals all over the world on the tip of your fingertips with the use of mobile phones.

Second, technology has made our life much easier by taking of simple but monotonous tasks from our hands. Making lengthy calculations has been replaced by the use of calculators. Washing clothes for instance which takes too much of labour and time when done by hand is easily handled by the washing machine leaving spare time with us to engage in some meaningful activity. Artificial intelligence has become a booming market to help with the tasks which require more attention to details such as, cleaning of houses has become very fast with the help of automatic vaccum cleaners like the roomba.

Lastly, technology has helped us in places where the span of a second also would threaten life. Fire alarms or smoke alarms are an example for this where the chemicals present in these alarms detect the concentration of gases such as carbon-di-oxide in air and alert us immediately. Cutting edge robotics has also helped reduce errors which are of a human nature and produce very high quality goods for daily use. Detection of cancer causing cells in the very initial stage has helped increase the expectancy of life. Also recent study into automated surgery using artificial intelligence also might be the next hot topic and will soon be implemented.

People argue that the advancement of technology and our dependence on it has made us dumb and useless, also it might have taken many jobs from the people. One more major concern with the increasing use of technology is the sharing of personal information online through social networking. But, wherever a problem arises technology comes to the rescue, here in the form of cyber security with it's own security solutions. Even when such things might hold true, the pros definitely outweigh the cons.