As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement is correlating the growing dependence of people on technology with the ability of humans in a negative way. Living in the 21st century, adopting to the phenomenal advancements in technology is inevitable. Right from our smartphones which give us a wake up call early in the morning, microwave ovens and toasters helping us prepare delicious breakfasts, app-based taxi services or our own cars with intelligent electronic control systems help us drive to our workplace, laptops which have replaced files or record books of the 20th century and finally entertainment systems like home theaters and smart televisions before we go to bed. We just cannot survive without being surrounded by some form of technology. Looking at the other side of the coin, many people have raised concerns that by automating human tasks, our intellectual abilities might shrink. This is totally dependent on the way we perceive the world around us.

With the advent of 21st century many revolutionary technologies such as Internet Of Things, Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain have come up. The aim is to connect people with each other and make our lives easier. These developments are still in their nascent stage and in order to come up with innovative solutions we need engineers, scientists and developers who can think creatively. It is necessary to have trained professionals and experts in order to disseminate the rapidly evolving technology to common people specially senior citizens who are not very tech-savvy.

Now, the reason why it is worry-some is some people tend to substitute electronic gadgets for every human task and remain completely idle. We no longer need to even press the switch to turn on our electrical appliances. Virtual home assistants such as Alexa have taken the responsibility upon themselves to accept voice commands from their owners and control devices. If this is going to be our attitude, it will definitely have adverse effects and will lose the ability to act in challenging circumstances. On the other hand, our smart devices have embedded sensors which help gather relevant data in order to monitor our health-both physical and mental. If utilized properly, it will definitely boost our productivity. The internet has provided us with a platform helping us to learn anything related to our interest.

Let us consider the current Corona pandemic crisis. Had it not been for technology, most of our businesses would be on the verge of shutdown. Technology made it possible to conduct meetings, classes online which was earlier considered to be possible only in a closed-room environment. Previously, office was the only work place and now companies are promoting the Work-from-home culture. This has helped in boosting the performance of many business ventures. Even to find a permanent solution, there is a dire need for rapid development of a vaccine wherein technological advancements and contribution of biochemical engineers and scientists over the years will play a pivotal role.

Therefore, technology has always played an important role in the progress of mankind from discovering fire to a digital world. Every time, the world has witnessed an industrial revolution it has benefited the people. We just need to change our outlook and our role to play in this ever-evolving world. If we remain curious to gain knowledge and make contributions to society, technology is going to bolster our dreams and not at all diminish our intellectual power.