As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technological growth has become a key part of our existence, as it helps us in solving many problems. The thesis opines that as people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, their abilities to think deteriorates. I strongly disagree with this opinion for three reasons.

To begin, people have more time for creative thinking, rather than routines as they depend on technology to solve problems. For example, the money-counting machine is developed to help bankers to count money. It saves their time and gives them room to focus on other aspects of their work that involves more thinking. They have more time balance accounts, to attend to more customers effectively and speedily, and make decisions that affect the whole banking system. They rather have more time to do more thinking rather than getting caught in the cycle of routines. One thing machines cannot do is to think. Most machines help in doing routines, giving people who depend on technology more room to think.

Secondly, technology development is certainly a product of innovative thinking. The world is fast advancing technology-wise because people have more time to think innovatively. For instance, a software engineer can create new software that can solve existing problems in new ways because he is depending on the computer to program. The development of an ATM machine, for example, is a product of the creative thinking of a programmer relying on his computer to work. Dependence on the computer for programming is what gives the software engineer opportunity to think of innovative ways of solving other problems. It is therefore clear that as people rely more and more on technology, they have more room and opportunity for creative thinking.

Others may argue using the law of use and disuse, that the more people use their brains to think, the better they think. While the law holds true, is that not the more reason people’s thinking improves as they depend on technology? When people engage rely more on creative and innovative thinking to create technologies to solve problems, the better they think. This is the same reason why scientists like Albert Einstein spent much of their lives innovating ideas that are still useful today: the more they innovated, the better their thinking. Research on Einstein’s brain showed that the more one thinks with his brain, the better he thinks.

In conclusion, when people rely more on technology to solve problems, they have more time, and relief from routine work to think creatively. The more they think, the better they think. People should therefore use technology more and more so that new discoveries can emerge.