People today are too individualistic. Instead of pursuing self-centered, separate goals, people need to understand that satisfaction comes from working for the greater good of the family, the Community or society as a whole.

When it comes to satisfaction, people in general believe that it lies to a condition when they initially set a goal, contrive a plan and make efforts to accomplish their goal. While their dream eventually comes true, they are full of excitement and content, and that moment is “satisfaction”. Therefore, it depends on people’s dream which generates satisfaction.

To begin with, we, humans, all have our own dreams since living in the current society requires several basic conditions that keep us survived. To illustrate this point, consider the most common goal among societies, to earn money as superfluous as possible. Why we desire money so eagerly? The most significant reason is that living means spending money. Maintaining basic human health, such as eating food, drinking water, or commuting between home and working places, paying electricity bills, water bills, gas bills, phone bills, all of above instances require spending money. Apart from them, it is our instinct to consider save all of our salaries, yet our salaries are not sufficient enough. As a result, the most pervasive dream among our society is to have a lot of money. In order to gain more money, people start to set their individualistic goals to compete for the least arduous but well-paid jobs. When they get such offer, satisfaction teems with them. Hence, achieving personal goals does indeed generate a sense of self-content.

Moreover, when people have sufficient money for them to live in a wealthy life-style, they start to consider their reputation. They covet fame, which lasts through eternity, even when they no longer exist in this world. Therefore, some of them donate money to cities for building libraries named after them, or they donate to academic institution to improve their facilities. Others devote themselves into communities or societies by joining assemblies or associations, such as saving endangered species, arousing societies to conserve resources or energy, or simply clearing our costal lines together. All of them could serve as a step stone for establishing their name, or fame, forever. This is because in their mind, serving for others, or the public does actually have more joy and delight than accomplishing self-centered goals. Individual dreams are not comparable to the necessity of the public.

In conclusion, not only did contribute to the family, the community or society as a whole could acquire satisfaction, but also did achieve individualistic goal could as well.