People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

People always do have very different meanings about certain topics. Those meanings are based on ideas of how a situation could be as a result of an idea or policy. However, being deeply committed to an idea or policy does not automatically mean that this is a result of critical thinking.

People who are very committed to an idea should not directly be very critical about it. There are a lot of situations where people are very committed to an idea without having personal grounds, because of this a critical view could be wanting. As an example, people who grew up in a religious environment, with values of the religious community, continue with those values without have a personal interest about it. They purely continue this values because they get used to it.

People can also get involved in a situation who aggressively influenced their opinion. This situation has had a decent emotional impact which suppresses rational thinking. For example, citizens which are involved in robbery may supporting ideas of heavy punishments or high fines for delinquents of robbery without knowing anything about research about the added value of heavy punishments or higher fines. They also do not know anything about laws which restricted judges to judge very severe or about the increased costs for society by tolerating heavy punishments.

Another example is the example about politicians. All the politicians are well known about topics but this does not automatically mean that there a very critical. Often politicians refuse to look in another way the the same problem. They undermine other good arguments because they are eager to win a debat. Also, in this case, knowing a lot does not mean that you are critical.

After all, It is likely to say that people who are deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it. People could be influenced very much besides their own rational thinking, there could be life events in the past or simply the fact that they know a lot about a subject but refuse to be critical about it.