People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

While emotion based decision might be gratifying for the time being, it poses greater risk of not being the right choice. Even if one manage to back up that decision afterward using logic, the logic tends to be fallacious and misleading. So, those who make decision based on emotion are highly likely to be poor decision makers.

Firstly, logic is one of the most important decision making tool in our life. It helps us to understand the validity of our decision; to ponder the both sides of the coin so to speak. Which provides a strong basis to build the future in the long run. Good decision makers in most of the cases are driven by logic. Logic is their primary tool for analysing the alternatives, extrapolating the situational data if needed and finally making a sound decision. Those who ignore this logic based approach are most of the times poor decision makers.

Instead of taking the logic based approach some people take decision emotionally. It has some very fundamental flaws. Emotion is ephemeral and misleading, not much helpful in the long run. If we look at the current situation of our society, we can see that a lot of crimes are a direct result of uncontrolled emotion. Emotions are extreme; if base characteristics of human emotion like hatred, anger and lust dominates a person then he is bound to make bad decisions.

Even if one manages to make good decision with emotion, he might not follow through his decision. For example, a person might decide to join army based on his emotion of patriotism but physically is not a good fit for that role. Then he will not be able to follow through his decision. If he used logic then properly assessed his abilities then he would have made a right decision to serve his country by other means.

If one wants to use emotion effectively in his life, then the best time to use it when deciding between multiple logical choice. It can also be used after the decision is taken, to properly follow through the decision reach the goal. But using emotion to make decision in the first place and later justifying with logic is not fruitful and bound to fail.