People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole

It is true that people's attitude are determined by their immediate action or situation rather than by society as a whole. Because attitude is important factor to make your reputation towards others. It is determined by how you act in the quick situation in which you have to make a immediate decision and make appropriate solution. How one behave in the surroundings rather than in the society as a whole, is much important to determine the person's attitude.

For example, you are applicable for the job placement, then director puts certain condition to you, whether you decide to agree the terms and condition or leave the company by refusing it. Then obviously, you have to take immediate decision to what to do. In such conditions, you have no more time to think very deeply. So you have to quickly put your agreement or disagreement to impress the director. It is possible that director wants to check your attitude towards the immediate or hasty decision. If you success to make your reputation very well by taking immediate decision, whether it is in favor or not, then you can be selected for the job easily. So this defines your attitude. If you are confidence in your goal and decisions then there no such things to stop you to achieve your success or goal. People will not call you hero if you take time to take your decision and doesn't make well decisions. So it is up to you to how to achieve success by your confidence and attitude towards others. Because attitude and imagination is more important factor to take your place in this competitive world.

However, it is not true in every situation because we have to keep in mind that society is our ideal. people's attitude is not determined by only their immediate situation or surroundings but also determined by your attribution towards the society. If you do well for the society then it is obviously fact that your reputation will also increase as your contribution to the society will increase. Moreover, common man is a representative of society's domestic success.

So, from the bulk of evidence, we can conclude that person's attitude is dependent on the immediate action or solution taken by the person rather than society as a whole.